New Seasons of’The Flash,’ ‘Supergirl,’ Riverdale’ and More Delayed Until 2021

The CW has been forced to shake up its fall schedule with many popular series including “The Flash” and “Riverdale” not returning until 2021…

The production shut down caused by the coronavirus outbreak already caused many of The CW’s biggest series to end early and now none of them will return again until 2021.

This week, CW president Mark Pedowitz confirmed that the majority of the network’s original scripted series will be pushed back until at least January 2021, although there’s still no exact timeline for when production will begin again on any of those shows.

The series that will be delayed include — “The Flash,” “Batwoman,” “Riverdale,” “Black Lightning” and the debuting series “Superman and Lois.”

“Superman and Lois” is expected to be one of the CW’s buzziest new series, which is why the show will air at the 9 p.m. ET slot on Tuesday nights following “The Flash,” which remains the network’s highest rated DC Universe series.

Another major delay will be “Supergirl” in part because of the production shut down but also because lead star Melissa Benoist announced her pregnancy recently, which will obviously keep her out of action for several months. As of now, “Supergirl” is expected to return to the CW in the late spring or summer of 2021, although again an exact date has not been determined.

In the mean time without so many new series to debut, the CW will rely on a slew of shows they’ve recently picked up or delayed in order to fill the gaps left by all the shows that won’t come back until 2021. The DC Universe series “Swamp Thing” was one of the shows the CW recently picked up after it lasted only one season on the streaming service.

Here’s the new line up for the CW when all of the series return in 2021:

8 pm All American
9 pm Black Lightning

8 pm The Flash

8 pm Riverdale
9 pm Nancy Drew

8 pm Walker
9 pm Legacies

8 pm Penn & Teller: Fool Us
9 pm Whose Line Is it Anyway?

8 pm Batwoman
9 pm Charmed

Several more shows will debut mid-season including “Supergirl,” “DC’s Legends of Tomorrow,” “Roswell, New Mexico,” and the new series “Kung Fu” and “The Republic of Sarah.”

H/T: TV Line

Related News

Comments are closed